Tonight’s Moon

Here we have a 3.5 days lunation Moon. Mare Crisium is completely illuminated and some fine details may be seen, like small Swift crater (5 kms diameter). The image was a sum (Registax 5) of 10 subframes at 9Mpx using the Casio Exilim EX-FS10 and Vixen 12×80 binocular.

Moon Crescent at 3 days of lunation

9 Responses to “Tonight’s Moon”

  1. Cindy Says:

    This wsa needed for our students.Thank you!!! I assume this is a picture of the moon today Oct.5,2010.

  2. I’ve been looking at a crescent moon with an orange slice below it.I live in Co. & it’s so amazing!!!

  3. how the moon gets its shape. sorry

    • computerphysicslab Says:

      Phases of the Moon are due to the angle the Sun hits the Moon in respect to Earth position. If the Earth is between the Moon and the Sun, then we see full moon. If the Earth is behind the Moon, then we see no Moon.

  4. desiree Riley Says:

    I am in miami, Florida and my son and I stood out on the balcony watching the moon. It was red we actually watched it turn a deep burgandy and then fade away it did not set it faded away.

  5. It is beautiful i just stepped outside, i wanted to call everyone but it is a little early! thought i was seeing red cause i’m sleepy. good morning!

  6. i’m in california it is 4:15 a.m,so glad i was up!

  7. Nydia Says:

    I have always loved the moon. I follow the cycle every month.

  8. Charleen Kaelin Says:

    Need to know which constellation is closest to the Sun & Moon.

Leave a comment